Characteristics of the Yearbook

The bilingual Jahrbuch des Dubnow-Instituts/Dubnow Institute Yearbook is published by Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, Göttingen, forms the core of the Institute's publications. It is aimed at the German- and English-speaking international scholarly public. The Yearbook is a refereed journal. Before publication, the contributions submitted undergo an anonymous review process (double-blind review), the successful completion of which is a prerequisite for inclusion in the publication.

Each issue contains one to two annually changing thematic focusi as well as a »General Section« and recurring sections (»Historians and other Scholars«, »Dubnowiana«, »From Research«, »Literature Report«). The broad survey essays and special studies deal with the history of individual Jewries in Central and Eastern Europe. »Dubnowiana« presents essays and sources on the life and work of Simon Dubnow.

Various methodological approaches are employed in the Yearbook and stand there side by side, all equal in their value for illuminating historical reality – the history of diplomacy and politics, social history, legal history, the history of science and the history of memory. The variety of approaches is in keeping with the diversity of the historical topics treated.

The Yearbook stands in the best tradition of established humanities journals through its advisory board of internationally renowned scholars, its review process, its scientific style, as well as through intensive editing and appealing presentation. The Yearbook is published by the Director of the Institute.  


Yfaat Weiss


Peer Reviewing

Enrico Lucca


Head, Editorial Team

Petra Klara Gamke-Breitschopf


Advisory Board

Marion Aptroot, Düsseldorf • Aleida Assmann, Konstanz • Jacob Barnai, Haifa • Israel Bartal, Jerusalem • Omer Bartov, Providence, N. J. • Esther Benbassa, Paris • Dominique Bourel, Paris • Michael Brenner, München/Washington, D. C. • Matti Bunzl, Urbana-Champaign • Lois Dubin, Northampton, Mass. • Todd Endelman, Ann Arbor, Mich. • David Engel, New York • Shmuel Feiner, Ramat Gan • Norbert Frei, Jena • Sander L. Gilman, Atlanta, Ga. • Frank Golczewski, Hamburg • Heiko Haumann, Basel • Susannah Heschel, Hanover, N. H. • Yosef Kaplan, Jerusalem • Cilly Kugelmann, Berlin • Mark Levene, Southampton • Leonid Luks, Eichstätt • Paul Mendes-Flohr, Jerusalem/Chicago, Ill. • Gabriel Motzkin, Jerusalem • David N. Myers, Los Angeles, Calif. • Jacques Picard, Basel • Gertrud Pickhan, Berlin • Anthony Polonsky, Waltham, Mass. • Renée Poznanski, Beer Sheva • Peter Pulzer, Oxford • Monika Richarz, Berlin • Manfred Rudersdorf, Leipzig • Rachel Salamander, München • Winfried Schulze, München • Hannes Siegrist, Leipzig • Gerald Stourzh, Wien • Stefan Troebst, Leipzig • Monika Wohlrab-Sahr, Leipzig • Moshe Zimmermann, Jerusalem • Steven J. Zipperstein, Stanford, Calif.

  Home  |  Data Protection  |  Imprint  |  Contact
 deutsch | english